The Silvermoon Sisters

WoWScrnShot_070414_225656

“Kamelia the Priest, not particularly fond of orcs”

 

The news broke in guild chat the other night that EU-Saurfang, the home server of the Exxodar Sisters, was finally scheduled to connect with two other realms, EU-Darkspear-Terokkar (both has been connected earlier). This was quite a suprise. While I have been anticipating a connection I didn’t think it would happen anytime soon. But it did.

First I thought – ’11 new draenei!’. Then I thought – ‘wattaminit! 22 new draenei!’. Then the second in command of the guild yelled “FOR THE HORDE!!!” in guild chat. After being admonished for such traitorous behaviour in an Alliance guild she explained why. It was a simple reason, really.

Let’s take a look at the dark side.

I thought short and not particularly hard about it. While I do love my draenei, and while I do have a number of projects in the making for them, things has become a bit stale. The routine of VP capping, the routine of Timeless Isle runs and the routine of LFR for Runestones and Secrets – it’s a bit boring. It’s not that I’ve taken on too much. I cope just fine with the quest for legendary capes for Shuanna the Paladin, Sharenne the Warlock and Kittyanna the Shaman. It’s just – routine.

In order to shake things up a bit I too ventured over to the Horde. With brand new characters on EU-Darkspear (wich hence will be my Horde server) I’m of to a flying start. Those few readers I probably have – my cats and myself most likely – might remember my latest incursion of Horde territory. That didn’t end well; Marikka the Deserter “opened an inn”. As it happened in Thunder Bluff. Then a rather demagogue blog post spewed forth from my brain. Mea culpa.

The thing is … I can’t find “that” with orcs. Or tauren. Or goblins. Definitely not with the Forsaken (allthough I have a slight hunch that once my mr Hyde takes control of my brain I will forfeit the alignment Neutral Evil/Neutral Good and go Chaotic Evil, likely with a warlock). Trolls are kind of cuddly and cool, that’s true. I like their attitude. But, in the end there was just one wway to go:

Blood elf.

WoWScrnShot_070714_123215

“Laveria the Rogue, the mercenary”

 

Maybe I have a thing for minority people on the brink of destruction. The Outland genocide of the Draenei decimated them with up to 80% of the entire population. Kael’Thas Sunstriders crazy antics almost led to the destruction of the entire blood elf population. In fact, both draenei and Blood Elves have something in common: They are the True Underdogs, not particularly well liked in either faction. Draenei is the underdogs of the Alliance. Blood Elves – they’re the dissenters of the Horde. They do what they have to doin order to survive both as individuals and as a culture.

Wich is why Kamelia the Shadow Priest is supporting Sylvanas Windrunner and scorns any orc that dares suggest she’d do his quest. Wich is also why Laveria the Rogue don’t give a damned about who’s paying her. Needless to say, after a few days on EU-Darkspear Laveria is the most prosperous one. It pays to be a mercenary. I just wonder how her backstory will be.

Thus the Silvermoon Sisters is born. A spin-off, one might say. So far Kamelia and Laveria are the only ones “living” but over time their family will probably grow as well. It don’t appear that World of Warcraft will shut down it’s servers anytime soon so I’m in no rush. As of now it’s more of an experiment.

It’s been fascinating in a way. Both Kamelia and Laveria started out fully loomed with a small amount of gold – thank you, Bind on Account heirlooms and Bindon Account Timeless Isle Armor Tokens (vendor value 5 gold each; I had a godd 100 tokens just laying around – I’m a hoarder). Even so, it’s almost been as if I’m new (oh no, now I think of Dumass!).

I have a solid memory of the old world quests, wich is why I’ve mainly leveled through dungeons. Once I hit Outland – on Laveria the Rogue, level 45 as of this writing – I’m going to spend more time questing than spelunking. The same goes for Northrend. Cataclysm will be the same old, of course. Most quest lines are as far as I remember not faction specific (such as the Earthen Ring in Deepholm etc). Pandaria will be all new. I wonder how I can avoid orcs on my priest, though … perhaps she’ll end up being the horde’s equivalent of captain Yossarian.

Anyway (as the goblin said)!

Welcome to the world, Kamelia and Laveria. We Will Have Justice!

Leave a Reply

