A sudden nomination – the Liebster Award

liebsteraward

As I was happily making my way through the strange land of narrative I glanced at my email and saw that someone had left a comment. I was curious, of course – could it actually be a Real Reader (and not a ‘single russian beauty looking for marriage’)?

Hotdiggedidam it was! This means two things. 1: Someone actually know that I exist. 2: Someone even liked what I’ve been up to. So, thanks to a gnome spy I was nominated for the Liebster Award. A big thank you to Diary of a Gnome Spy for nominating me! I must confess, I wasn’t exactly sure what the Liebster Award was. As i turned out it came with a set of rules (below). I’ll do my best to obey them.

Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
  3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
  4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
  6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
  7. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.)
  8. Once you have written and published it, you then have to: Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

Eleven random facts
Uh … let’s see … hmmm. Aha! Cats, not dogs. I can’t swim and I have no intention of learning how to swim. I pretend I’m a decent cook (I’m actually not too bad).
Nicotine is the fuel of creativity.I’m a self-taught writer without academic credentials whatsoever. Coffee, not tee. Battling inner demons on a daily basis – most of them aren’t even pixels. Prefer long walks to working out (honestly, I’m to lazy to lift weights!). I should probably play other games too … but. But! Is that eleven? I don’t know, I can’t count. Well, not that well. Now where’s that blasted calculator? Oh, wait! Aha! I don’t own a shirt. There, that should be eleven.

As for the questions
I’ll do my best at answering them.

Which is your favorite in-game quest line? Like, one you don’t want to miss on any alts as you level up?

I have two favourite quest lines, depending on armor class. For clothies, I always finish the intro quest line of Hellfire Peninsula (because of the quest rewards). For plate armor classes I always finish the quest line in Terokkar Forrest, starting with “What’s Wrong at Cenarion Thicket”, wich eventually awards Cenarion Legplates (incidentally the same model as Saltstone Legplates). Other than that I don’t usually follow any specific quest lines. Some are fun, others are not.

Have you ever just spontaneously started to role play; for example, stood around some tables in an inn and offered to take peoples’ order?

Yes. I do it all the time. Sometimes, if I’m lucky, some other fellow joins in. There’s been a few memorable impromptu roleplays in dungeons and other places; alas, not in Goldshire (I guess I’m lucky).

What music do you chose to listen to, to accompany you in your epic battles? Do you play with the game music on? Or do you mute music and play your own in the background?

In-game music, most of the time.

Were you a gaming virgin before your adventures in WoW, like me? Or had you already played other games, or MMO’s previously?

My “career” as a gamer started out in the late 1980’s, first with several Commodore 64 titles, later on several Amiga titles (such as Wings, Paranoia Complex, It Came From the Desert) and eventually Doom (the first version) on a 486 PC without a soundcard. From there I went on a binge of FPS games – mostly Quake and Duke Nuk’em – until I ended up in the blissful land of Sim City … and the Sims … sprinkled with Age of Empires and Medal of Honor; Allied Assault. I was late to the WoW party, mostly because the MMO theme deterred me. I’m more comfortable as a solo player – that hasn’t changed, much. After all, DF or LFR is a group of solo players who just happens to work towards the same goal.

In your opinion, should Worgens have been added to the Horde’s races, or are they suited to be Alliance?

My draenei tends to stay as far away from the fleabags as possible, thank you. That does not include worgen, of course.

If you were brave enough to display your colors publicly, what symbol or quote could someone see stuck to your car’s bumper?

The Lion of Stormwind would be appropriate.

Say you were an über rogue and could stealth past anything, what would you do/where would you go first?

Well, I would sneak into a 25 heroic group on their way to Garrosh, hide in the shadows and then step out at the very moment the achievement dinged, change my title and then run like hell!

Do you have a favorite companion pet out at all times? If so, is it always the same one? How do you choose?

No.

What is your #1 in-game pass-time? Auction farming? Transmogs? Being trendy in Trade chat? Exploring old zones? (etc.)

It’s very mood dependant; I enjoy soloing more than having to work with other people on obtaining gear that makes soloing less challenging. Wich is why I spend a lot of time on Timeless Isle.

Is there a piece of art somewhere in game, a sculpture, a painting, that caught your interest and opened your eyes to the tiny details of WoW?

Karazhan. That place is sprinkled with details!

What real life thing do you tend to set aside for WoW?

I should probably exercise more than I do … *mumble mumble*. But, but … but!

Nominated blogs
in wich I fail to uphold the rules; but what good is a rule if it cannot be broken, eh? Besides, I couldn’t find more than these on the limited time I had writing this piece (zug zug kept me busy and now I’m hungry).

Sportsbard (because of the eclectic mix o WoW, sports and poems)

Grimoires of Supremacy (because warlocks – and the “huh!?” expression of the blueberry in the header)

Motherly Mage (because, well, mages.)

Should you be so inclined as to accept this nomination please answer these questions … wich incidentally is the very same ones I just answered. I know, that’s not how it is supposed to be done but I’m absolutely atrocious at thinking up questions. There’s a reason I stick to fiction – I’m a horrible reporter! (I’m also a little bit on the anarchist side so … rules. Eh, who needs ’em!) I hope you lot have better luck at creating new questions than I had.

  1. Which is your favorite in-game quest line? Like, one you don’t want to miss on any alts as you level up?
  2. Have you ever just spontaneously started to role play; for example, stood around some tables in an inn and offered to take peoples’ order?
  3. What music do you chose to listen to, to accompany you in your epic battles? Do you play with the game music on? Or do you mute music and play your own in the background?
  4. Were you a gaming virgin before your adventures in WoW, like me? Or had you already played other games, or MMO’s previously?
  5. In your opinion, should Worgens have been added to the Horde’s races, or are they suited to be Alliance?
  6. If you were brave enough to display your colors publicly, what symbol or quote could someone see stuck to your car’s bumper?
  7. Say you were an über rogue and could stealth past anything, what would you do/where would you go first?
  8. Do you have a favorite companion pet out at all times? If so, is it always the same one? How do you choose?
  9. What is your #1 in-game pass-time? Auction farming? Transmogs? Being trendy in Trade chat? Exploring old zones? (etc.)
  10. Is there a piece of art somewhere in game, a sculpture, a painting, that caught your interest and opened your eyes to the tiny details of WoW?
  11. What real life thing do you tend to set aside for WoW?

 

2 thoughts on “A sudden nomination – the Liebster Award

  1. Anoukisse May 8, 2014 / 3:28 pm

    Well, this entry certainly kept me entertained. Had a smile on my face the whole time! 😀

    I love cats too, but, hubby’s allergic, so… I played Doom. I think a grand total of 3 times. It was during the “lovey-dovey-romance” time of our relationship, and I was trying to make him happy. -.- That game gave me nightmares, and every time one of those pink blobs would come face to face with me I would literally jump in my chair.

    Awesome reading you! 😀

Leave a Reply

