Hard to kill

I won’t start with a (probably poorly written) short story. Not now. Certain characters grow to be too important for the sordid pulp fiction my brain decides is “good writing” when it relax. Instead, I’m going to tell you a story of how Shuannah the Priest came to be. And how you can, in a way, fall in love.

I did say I was going to delete Shuanna. I was wrong. As it turns out, paladins are hard to kill – especially when they have Feats of Strength and mounts that’s class specific. I wasn’t sure if the Feat of Strength would remain if I deleted her. In order to err on the side of caution I asked around. A whole bunch of comments in a WoW Insiders “the Queue” convinced me not to delete her.

Lucky for me I guess. Even as a cloth wearing banker she’s holding Zin’Rokh in a very threatening manner whenever I mumble something about “delete”.

WoWScrnShot_011014_145537
“Delete!? Oh no you won’t!”

Shuanna was “born”, as a character, on the same day Wrath of the Lich King got installed on my computer. I got Lich King as a christmas present so I wasn’t there from the very start but no matter. Once it was installed I decided it was time for a change – I changed not only faction but also server (from EU Alonsus to EU Saurfang; I still have an unactive hordie on Alonsus). So as I was sitting there at the character creation screen I could really just find one model that looked decent enough. Humans looked that poorly cut out paper dolls. Night elves appeared to have trouble with their hands. Dwarves and whatnot didn’t appeal to me. In fact, the only “high res” race of the Alliance was draenei.

So Shuanna came to be, a back then level 1 paladin. Why paladin? Well, I was a bit tired of ranged. A paladin seemed a good choice. It was harder than I thought it would be – but eventually I managed to reach level 80. I haven’t been much of an end game player so once Shuanna was 80 I soon rolled a new character (a paladin!). That’s how it continued to be. Eventually Shuanna ended up as a banker and that’s how she’s stayed for a long time.

Until now.

WoWScrnShot_011014_043143

Shuannah took her first steps as a level 1 priest last night. With a bit of help from a friendly mage she even made it to the Aldors Priest Academy in one piece. I thought it fitting to end a paladins career at the Aldor Rise – and start a priests career at the very same spot. She’ll go back to Azuremyst of course; I think Terokkar mobs are a wee bit hard to kill even though she’s a former paladin.

So you see, things worked out just fine in the end. And Walt Whitman is still right:

““We have circled and circled till we have arrived home again, we two, We have voided all but freedom and all but our own joy.”

Leave a Reply

