A draenei in red and gold

Several months ago Cahanna was prancing around the fountain in Stormwinds Trade District. It was very late. Cahanna and her stalwart companions – a retribution paladin and a worgen death knight, who later succumbed to a peculiar disease in wich he was “racially changed” to a gnome – had been on adventures. In fact, I think they had managed to get Cahanna impaled. In Gundrak.

(It was one of those “let’s mop up old achies”-runs.)

So, there I – Cahanna – was. jumping around the fountain, the typical behaviour of a WoW gamers toon when “the Maker” is almost falling asleep and there’s not much left to do but to skip. Jump. Prance. Camouflage ones self as a blood elf. Or an iron dwarf. Or a furbolg (I usually take a bath in the fountain whenever I use the transformation rod).

Then.

SHE walked by.

I don’t recall her name. It was a draenei shaman. She walked. Wich was also one of those late night specials; whenever people are done with raids or whatnot they tend to do the silly stuff. Such as walking around. no one in a right mind would walk, unless you have plenty of time just to chill.

Whoever you are: YOU are responsible for the inspiration of the look of Savenna below. Back then I had neither the gear nor the addons. Much less a shaman. I just knew, when you walked by, that I had to have that shield. By sheer luck you, whoever you are or were, also had a helmet showing. It is indeed a rare occurance that a transmog set blend perfectly together with a headpiece.

I couldn’t forget the look for many days. Somehow it got implanted in my mind. The shield – a piece of gear that, then, was unobtainable for me. You walked by before patch 5… whatever – the one where old raids no longer required a raid group. The one where some mechanics were nerfed.

As I said, I didn’t use any addons (except Altoholic). A guildie tipped me off about Atlasloot. I was very relucant installing a new addon at first btu I went ahead. So, just figuring out how the damned thing worked I clicked here and there. I ended up in “raids”, vanilla raids. Blackwing Lair, to be exact.

There was the shield.

Oh, how I longed for it. Alas! The pesky first boss ripped my shaman Creannah – in questing greens – a new one. I never made it past the first boss. Until …

Savenna is a second incarnation of Creannah (who, for reasons no one talks about, “opened an inn” … well allright: I needed her spot in the rooster for a blood elf priest!). Shamans have undergone some changes – changes that just sat just right with me. The MoP shaman is just perfect for someone like me. Yes, I’m getting old. Reflexes slows down. I prefer ranged classes with just enough buttons to do the job in a dungeon or raid; that way I can keep my distance, assess the situation – and strike. I’m quite positive that the vrykul berserk in Utgarde would sneer at it; he do state, after all, “Don’t assess the situation, just jump into the fray!”.

Zavannah the Death Knight usually ends up in a horisontal position when she jumps into the fray. I’ve spent more time dead than doing DPS with her. At least in LFR. Not so with Savenna. There’s a certain charm to a massive lava bolt, you know. Chain Lightning feels like … like the emperor, in Star Wars. Toying with poor Anakin Darth Vader while Luke Skywalker does what a melee usually do: complain about his health.

It took me a long time to find the equivalent of whatever the shaman was wearing when she walked by my mage Cahanna. A long time indeed. It’s been a quest, of sorts. Finding that “epic” armor. With the aid of AtlasLoot and Wowhead I finally found the last piece of the puzzle. The helm. A quest reward from a questline in Shadowmoon Valley rewards you with the exact same model as the helm from Grull’s Lair. I was late to the party there – I didn’t know that, until … well. Today, actually.

Whoever you are or were, anonymous shaman that walked by a late night in Stormwind while a mage camouflaged as a furblog took a bath in the fountain … I salute you. You showed the world – well, me at least – just what we can do with transmogrification. The possibilites are near endless.

Savenna is happy.

Tomorrow she will probably dress in something else, but today – she is happy.

A draenei in red and gold.

WoWScrnShot_120313_155726

 

 

The transmogs used:

Head – Stalker’s Helmet of Second Sight, http://www.wowhead.com/item=31106, quest reward.

Shoulders: Fiery Chain Shoulders, http://www.wowhead.com/item=16988, craftable

Chest: Energized Chestplate, http://www.wowhead.com/item=18312, boss drop

Belt: Engraved Girdle, http://www.wowhead.com/item=10233, drop

Legs: Radiant Leggings, http://www.wowhead.com/item=12420, craftable

Boots: Radiant Boots, http://www.wowhead.com/item=12419, craftable

Wespon: Perdition’s Blade, http://www.wowhead.com/search?q=Perdition%27s+Blade, boss drop

Shield: Red Dragonscale Protector, http://www.wowhead.com/item=19348, boss drop

2 thoughts on “A draenei in red and gold

  1. Laeleiweyn December 4, 2013 / 3:13 pm

    That’s an awsome helm! And a nice story. 🙂

  2. klokbok December 4, 2013 / 3:51 pm

    I should perhaps have mentioned what helm and stuff it is. Hmm … Helm is Stalker’s Helmet of Second Sights, quest reward from the quest Teron Gorefiend, I am … – http://www.wowhead.com/item=31106 🙂

Leave a Reply

