The light to see

WoWScrnShot_030512_235842

It’s been a busy week, to say the least. One of those weeks with a need to juggle writing jobs and World of Warcraft – not to mention mundane things such as feeding the cats (and others). Still, I think I came out on top of it. Cassanna the Huntress blasted from a long level 70 hiatus to 90 in about 2 days with a bit of boost help through Lich King dungeons.

(I never run (PuG) dungeons on a hunter. Somehow things just die too fast for me to take a careful aim. It’s like “I am a stone … a silent ki… Oh for fracks sake! They’re dead!?”.)

That was last week, of course. This week, thanks to World of Lae it’s mage week. And do I have a story to tell. Let’s start from the beginning, as all great stories start just there. Once upon a time I was sick of melee classes. I had painfully struggled my way to 80 – this was in Wrath of the Lich King – on a retribution paladin, Shuanna (also my first character on EU Saurfang). I needed a change. I had dabbled with ranged classes before but never seriously considered a mage.

Thus Cahanna was born. I spent a good half an hour trying out different names, ending up with a name I never really liked. But I had to live with it; my imagination had run dry and it was either Cahanna or “Mageypants” (no one in their right RP-mind would ever let themselves use such an abomination of a name!).

Back then, early Cataclysm, Arcane was the King of the Mountain. Of course, being a stubborn person with an afffinity for pet peeves I chose Fire instead. Because things that go “Boom!” are more fun than things that go “Fzzzrrtttt!”. I leveled to 63 as Fire, rather pleased with crits of 9.000. Also, the name – Cahanna – grew on me. I became increasingly infatuated with the often scantily clad mage.

One day I was happily burning fel orcs close to Hellfire Citadel when a guildie proposed I should go Arcane. I said I was fine with Fire. The guildie persisted. Eventually I grumbled a bit, changed spec – Arcane was my second spec, never used – and started a few testruns. That’s when it hit me. Well, actually it hit a fel orc – a crit of almost 20.000. I was amazed. Flabebrgasted. What the flying fuck was that!? I looked around ,surely there were some 85 mage hiding? But no. It was Lil C …

WoWScrnShot_030812_200510

One level later she became Big C. The infatuation grew to affection. The levels flew by; 70, 75. One memorable moment was soloing the boss of Utgarde Keep; the rest of the group was dead, boss at 50%. By the time the others arrived he was down to 1%.

Now, to keep the feet planted firmly in the ground I’d like to mention another, less memorable, moment – just to balance things out. I reached level 85 eventually. A guildie – the mage who convinced me to go Arcane – made me some PvP gear, just to break the iLvl for the Cataclysm Heroics. From there on the gear and valor points just piled up. When LFR came around I was curious, so I popped into a raid and …

And I had rearranged my keys. I used to have Arcane Brilliance on “8” but had replaced it with Ice Lance. When the raid party started buffing up, muscle memory made me hit “8”. I had Ultraxion targeted. It could have been me, but it could have been an over-eager tank as well. I’m not exactly sure who pulled the boss while people were still getting dressed. But I take it as a Mea Culpa, just in case.

While stacking up valor points I also set off on an epic adventure of my own. I like soloing old content and what better way to have fun than kill two birds with one stone? So I decided I should go for “the Exalted” title. The mission was impossible, or so I thought. I spent close to a year, more or less, grinding out the necessary reputations. Amassing a ton of netherweave and other stuff in the process (wich turned into shiny gold coins on the AH). Then, one day, I was there. The moment of epicness will never leave my mind.

It was short a few weeks before Mists of Pandaria was expected. The day before I had blasted through Karazhan with some guildies. I ended up on 99% in reputation. To quote Darth Vader: “Nooooo!”. I grumbled a lot in guild chat, thinking I had to wait another week for that elusive title I had been chasing for so long. Then a guildie told me that trash respawn but bosses don’t (I didn’t know that!). I headed back, burning through trash, seeign the reputation stack up. Then, right on the stage of the Opera Event, I blasted down a pack of mobs that had chased after me … Aaand!

The light to see. Sometimes it comes with Gandlaf in Moria. Sometimes it comes center stage as a reward for a long sought wish: the ultimate achievement (at least for someone like me).

WoWScrnShot_090512_155525

Cahanna has amassed quite a lot of fun toys over time. One in partuclar is always useful – the Orb of the Sin’dorei. I know, it’s probably silly, but changing into a blood elf is fun! Especially if you’re a transmog addict as well. These days – since Arcane took a beating with Mists of Pandaria and I’ve only started, cautiously, to experiment in Frost – Cahanna spends most of her time digging. Archaeology that is. When she’s not digging up Mogu slivers of the past (and running away, like Rincewind, when an angry Yangol wants to eat her), she’s … well.

Doing silly stuff.

Cahanna_belf_moon
Cahanna being a very silly “BLood elf”

Or just showing off how awesome she really is. Well, sort of. She do share a sense of un-fashion with the adopted one, Sharenne the Warlock.

WoWScrnShot_081812_214258

“Never underestimate a mage …”

Leave a Reply

